Select your language close

خدمة الصحة عن بعد في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت (جوش) تجلب الأمل لمريض صيني

الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت Richard Hewitt، طبيب الأنف والأذن والحنجرة للأطفال في جوش
الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت Richard Hewitt، طبيب الأنف والأذن والحنجرة للأطفال في جوش

رحلة هُوا  Hua المروّعة  

في عام 2016، عندما كان عمر هُوا عامًا واحدًا فقط، لاحظ والداها أن صوتها أجش.  بعد فحص الحلق في مستشفى للأطفال في بكين، تم تشخيص هُوا بالإصابة ببدايات مرض "الأورام الحليمية في الحنجرة عند الأحداث JLP" 

اكتشاف تشخيص هُوا جعل والديها في حالة يرثى لها.  تسبب هذه الحالة أورامًا حميدة (غير سرطانية) ولكن إذا أصبحت حادة، فقد تسبب صعوبة في التنفس.  غالبًا ما يحتاج الأطفال الذين يعانون من هذه الحالة إلى العديد من العمليات الجراحية حيث يعود المرض عدة مرات.

على الرغم من أن والدي هُوا كانا عاطفيين بعد تشخيصها، إلا أنهما أرسلاها إلى مستشفى محلي كبير لإستئصال الأورام باستخدام ليزر ثاني أكسيد الكربون، وهو شكل من أشكال جراحة الليزر.  بعد الجراحة، أصبحت أعراض هُوا أفضل. لسوء الحظ، بعد خمسة أشهر، عاد الورم والأعراض.

بعد توصية من صديق، أُدخلت هُوا  في مستشفى جديد في بكين، حيث استخدم الأطباء طريقة علاج جديدة تسمى "العلاج الضوئي الديناميكيPDT"، وهو العلاج الذي يحتوي على دواء حساس للضوء ومصدر ضوء لتدمير الخلايا الغير الطبيعية.  ونصح المستشفى والديها بأنه سيتم إزالة الأورام بعد ست دورات. لسوء الحظ، بعد ست جلسات أصبحت أعراض هُوا أكثر حدة، لدرجة أنها أُصيبت ببعض الأعراض الجديدة بما في ذلك صعوبة في التنفس، التحام الحبل الصوتي، تندب وتضيّق الحنجرة laryngostenosis.

عادت هُوا إلى مستشفاها المحلي، لكن بسبب تضيّق الحنجرة كان عليها أن تخضع لعملية جراحية كل شهر، لتصل في مجموعها إلى 28 عملية.

الحصول على رأي آخر عبر خدمة الصحة عن بعد  

أصبح والدا هُوا في حاجة ماسة إلى المساعدة، وقررا طلب مشورة الخبراء من الأطباء الدوليين عبر الاستشارة عن بعد. وبمساعدة من سينت لوسيا للاستشارات Saint Lucia Consulting، وهي منظمة متخصصة في الخدمات الطبية في الخارج، نجحت عائلة هُوا في حجز استشارة فيديو "وجهاً لوجه" مع الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت في قسم الأذن والأنف والحنجرة في غوش.

قال الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت: "بالنسبة للأطفال الذين يعانون من مرض انتشار  الأورام الحليمية في مجرى التنفس ، فعادة ما نستخدم 'تقنيات باردة' وخاصة الإنضار (تدخّلات ضئيلة جدا لإزالة الأنسجة الميتة أو المصابة)microinvasive debridement   ونتجنب استخدام 'التقنيات الحارة' التي تشمل الإستئصال باستخدام ليزر ثاني أكسيد الكربون االذي خضعت له هُوا من قبل" . وأضاف الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت قائلا: " 'التقنيات الحارة' التي تشمل الإستئصال باستخدام ليزر ثاني أكسيد الكربون قد تؤدي بسبب حرارتها إلى أضرار لايمكن السيطرة عليها وتضيّق الحنجرة". 

استعرض الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت حالة هُوا بالتفصيل وأوصى بأن استخدام 'تقنية باردة' ستكون الأفضل لهُوا مع تمديد الوقت بين جلسات العلاج لتحسين حالتها وتقليل الضرر.   أوصى الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت بضرورة إجراء إعادة بناء مجرى الهُواء بجراحة مفتوحة. بعد أن تتعافى هُوا من الأورام.

كذلك أوضح الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت أن الجراحة لا تشكّل علاجا للمرض.  يجب أن يستمر العلاج طوال مرحلة الطفولة، حتى يتطور جهاز المناعة عند الطفل بما يكفي للقضاء على المرض.  وفي حالات سابقة حدثت في غوش، كان متوسط المدة من بداية العلاج إلى الشفاء هو عامين ونصف. 

أمل جديد  

كان والدا هُوا سعيدين للغاية باستشارة الفيديو عن بعد مع الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت.  لقد وجدا أن الحصول على رأي آخر كان  مفيدا جدا وقد أعطاهما أملا جديدا.  بالنسبة للمرضى الذين يعانون من حالات نادرة يصعب علاجها مثل حالة هُوا ، فإن 

وجود خطة علاج محددة من أحد الخبراء هو أمر مطمئن.

بعد الاستشارة عن بعد، علّق موظفون من سينت لوسيا للاستشارات بالقول: "خدمة الصحة عن بعد هي   'دواء جيد ' لعلاج الأمراض الصعبة والحادة في عصر الإنترنت.  في الوقت الحاضر، يمكن للجميع، بفضل الإنترنت،  البقاء في المنزل مثل عائلة هُوا، والتواصل مباشرة مع الخبراء المرموقين في المستشفيات ذات الشهرة العالمية للحصول على رأي طبي آخر".  

 

الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت

الدكتور ريتشارد هيويت هو طبيب الأنف والأذن والحنجرة، واستشاري الرأس والرقبة والقصبة الهُوائية في غوش منذ عام 2012. وهو "رئيس الخدمة الوطنية لمرض القصبة الهُوائية الحاد National Service for Severe Tracheal Disease" ورئيس"فريق القصبة الهُوائية" في غوش والمدير المشارك لـ "خدمة مجرى الهُواء عند الأجنّة في مستشفى غريت أورموند ستريت ومستشفى كلية لندن الجامعيةGreat Ormond Street Hospital & University College Hospital Foetal Airway Service". يلتزم ريتشارد بتوفير الرعاية الآمنة والفعالة للأطفال، وقد حصل على جائزة مستشفى غريت أورموند ستريت "جائزة أفضل استشاري جراحي" في مارس 2017.

سينت لوشا للاستشارات

سينت لوشا للاستشارات، التي تأسست في عام 2011 في بكين، هي مؤسسة مهنية رائدة في الصين تقيم التعاون الرسمي مع المستشفيات الدولية من الدرجة الأولى، وتوفر الاستشارات الطبية والخدمات الطبية في الخارج للمرضى الصينيين. شارك مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت للأطفال مع سينت لوشا للاستشارات في عام 2017 لمساعدة الأطفال الصينيين والأسر المصابين بأمراض نادرة ومعقدة.
لمزيد من المعلومات حول سينت لوشا للاستشارات، يرجى زيارة الموقع الرسمي: https://www.stluciabj.cn/ .

Select your language close

GOSH Telehealth service brings new hope for Chinese patient with rare tumour

Dr Richard Hewitt, a Paediatric Otolaryngologist (Ear Nose and Throat, ENT) at GOSH
Dr Richard Hewitt, a Paediatric Otolaryngologist (Ear Nose and Throat, ENT) at GOSH

Hua’s harrowing journey over 28 surgeries  

In 2016, when Hua was only a year old, her parents noticed that she had a hoarse voice for no reason. After a laryngoscopy examination at a children’s hospital in Beijing, Hua was diagnosed with juvenile onset laryngeal papilloma (JLP).  

The discovery of Hua’s diagnosis made her parents very distressed. According to their local doctor, although the disease presents as a benign tumour, if the disease becomes severe, it can cause airway obstruction and difficulty in breathing. This disease is not only very dangerous, but children with the condition are also prone to relapse. To treat it children often need multiple surgeries.  

Although Hua’s parents felt very upset because of their daughter’s suffering, in order to treat the disease, they had to send their child to a top local hospital for carbon dioxide laser resection, a form of laser surgery. After the surgery, Hua’s hoarseness symptoms became better. Unfortunately, after five months, the symptoms appeared again and the tumour relapsed.  

Hua started the  treatment again. Under their friends’ recommendation, her parents transferred Hua to a new hospital in Beijing and where doctors used a new treatment method; Photodynamic Therapy (PDT), a treatment that involves light-sensitive medicine and a light source to destroy abnormal cells. The hospital advised her parents that after six courses the tumour would be cured. The plan was to come to the hospital every 20-30 days for a one-time PDT treatment. Unfortunately, after six sessions of PDTs, Hua’s symptoms became more severe. She even developed some new symptoms including difficulty in breathing, vocal cord adhesion, scarring and laryngostenosis (narrowing of the larynx).  

The parents had no choice but to refer Hua back to their previous local hospital. Due to laryngostenosis, Hua had to have a surgery every month. Until late November 2019, this little girl had Laryngoscopy resection surgery 28 times in total.  

Second opinion via telehealth service makes real difference  

Too much surgery can be painful for children and heart-breaking for parents. Therefore Hua’s parents decided to seek expert advice from international doctors via remote consultations. With help from Saint Lucia Consulting, a professional overseas medical service organisation, Hua’s family successfully booked a “face to face” video consultation with Dr Richard Hewitt in the Ear, Nose and Throat (ENT) department at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children (GOSH) and got Dr Hewitt’s expert opinions efficiently.  

Dr Richard Hewitt is a Paediatric Otolaryngologist (Ear Nose and Throat, ENT), Head & Neck and Tracheal Consultant. He is the Director of the National Service for Severe Tracheal Disease and The GOSH "Tracheal Team" and the Co-Director of the GOSH& University College Hospital Foetal Airway Service. He has a specialist interest in all aspects of Paediatric ENT, Tracheal and Complex airway surgery. 

“For the children with recurrent respiratory papillomatosis, we usually use ‘cold techniques’ especially microinvasive debridement and try to avoid using ‘hot techniques’ which includes the carbon dioxide laser resection Hua took before,” Dr Richard Hewitt said. “‘Hot techniques’ like carbon dioxide laser resection may lead to uncontrolled heat damage and laryngeal stenosis”. 

Moreover, Dr Richard Hewitt explained that due to the pathophysiological characteristics of recurrent respiratory papillomatosis in children, there is no cure for the disease through surgery. Treatment should be maintained throughout childhood, while waiting for the child's immune system to continue to develop which will assist in eliminating the disease. In previous GOSH cases, the average duration from the initial intervention through the treatment course and then finally the cure was two and half years.  

Alongside effective interventions, the intervals between treatments can be slowly lengthened. However, for children who suffer from the severe form of the condition, which may even recur every week, Dr Richard Hewitt explained that adjuvant medication such as Cidofovir would be an option. However, based on Hua’s specific situation, Dr Hewitt suggested  the cold technique could be used to treat the current problem of recurrent stenosis and extend the interval of treatments to improve the condition of Hua, while causing less harm.  

In terms of Hua’s current problem of airway stenosis, Dr Richard Hewitt recommended that no graft should be used for treatment. In regards for papilloma, immunosuppression by graft therapy may lead to a higher risk of tumour invasiveness.  

Dr Richard Hewitt also explained that he had treated 34 children with this disease who received carbon dioxide laser resection before seeing him. 33 of them do not need any open surgery or Cidofovir drug therapy and only repetitive interventions were needed. After Hua has recovered from the tumour, an open airway reconstruction will be required.  

New hope  

Hua’s parents were very happy about the remote video consultation with Dr Richard Hewitt. They found having a second opinion very useful and it brought them new hope. For patients suffering from rare and difficult-to-treat conditions like Hua, the formulation of a treatment plan requires accurate judgment and authoritative treatment plan due to more complex pathological symptoms.  

After the remote consultation, staff from Saint Lucia Consulting commented: “telehealth service is ‘a good medicine’ for treating difficult and severe diseases in the Internet era. Nowadays, with the help of the convenient internet, everyone can stay at home like Hua’s family, and directly communicate with experts in world-renowned hospitals to get their authoritative second medical opinions”.  

 

Dr Richard Hewitt

Dr Richard Hewitt is a Paediatric Otolaryngologist (Ear Nose and Throat, ENT), Head & Neck and Tracheal Consultant at Great Ormond Street Hospital (GOSH) since 2012. He is the Director of the National Service for Severe Tracheal Disease and The Great Ormond Street "Tracheal Team" and the Co-Director of the Great Ormond Street Hospital & University College Hospital Foetal Airway Service. Richard is committed to the safe, effective and efficient care of children and was awarded the Great Ormond Street Hospital "Best Surgical Consultant Award" in March 2017.

Saint Lucia Consulting

Saint Lucia Consulting, founded in 2011 in Beijing, is a leading professional institution in China that establishes official cooperation with first-class international hospitals and provides overseas medical consultation and services for Chinese patients. Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children (GOSH) partnered with Saint Lucia Consulting in 2017 to help Chinese children and families with rare and complex diseases. For more information about Saint Lucia Consulting, please visit the official website: https://www.stluciabj.cn/.
Browse A-Z